Florida Workers’ Compensation Laws – Forbes Advisor

Editorial Note: Forbes Advisor may earn a commission on sales made from partner links on this page, but this does not affect the opinions or ratings of our editors.

Business insurance made easy

Compare free quotes from the best insurers on SimplyBusiness. Get a policy in under 10 minutes.

Workers’ compensation insurance pays for medical treatment, ongoing physical therapy, disability benefits, lost wages and other benefits if an employee is injured or becomes ill in a work-related incident . Each state determines workers’ compensation laws for businesses in its state.

Here is a closer look at Florida workers’ health insurance.

Who Should Have Supplemental Insurance For Florida Workers

Most businesses in Florida, but not all, are required to obtain Florida workers’ compensation insurance. Here’s who should have it:

  • Employers who have four or more employees, including business owners who are corporate officers or members of a limited liability company (LLC)
  • Construction employers who have one or more employees, including business owners who are corporate officers or LLC members
  • Agricultural employers with six regular employees and / or 12 seasonal employees who work more than 30 days during the season but not more than 45 days in total in a calendar year

Workers can report non-compliant companies with Florida workers compensation laws. You can also report suspected fraud by calling a toll-free number at 1-800-378-0445.

What Florida covers for workers

Under the Florida Workers Act, accidental injuries and illnesses resulting from the work are both covered.

In Florida, if you are injured as a result of a work-related injury or occupational disease, your employer’s workers’ compensation coverage may entitle you to medical benefits and certain employee replacement benefits. salary.

In Florida, workers’ compensation for medical benefits includes:

  • Visits to the doctor
  • Hospitalization
  • Physical therapy
  • Medical tests
  • Prescription drugs

Here’s what else Florida workers’ supplemental insurance can pay for:

Travel expenses to and from a licensed treatment center or pharmacy are also covered by workers compensation in Florida.

Salary replacement benefits are available if your income is lower due to an accident at work. Replacement salary will be equal to two-thirds of your regular weekly salary before the injury.

Temporary Total Disability benefits are paid following an injury or illness that temporarily prevents you from returning to work.

Temporary partial disability benefits are available when a doctor releases you to return to work with restrictions.

Permanent Impairment Benefits are available when the injury or illness results in permanent physical, psychological or functional loss.

Full permanent benefits are paid when the injury results in permanent and total disability.

Death benefits are paid for deaths resulting from accidents at work and include the payment of funeral costs and long-term care benefits.

Workers’ compensation benefits for lost wages begin on the eighth day the injured employee is unable to work. In most cases, salary replacement benefits will be equal to two-thirds of the employee’s regular weekly salary.

Exclusions from workers’ compensation payments

There are situations that are excluded from workers compensation coverage in Florida. These include a mental or nerve injury due to stress, fear or excitement.

Additionally, workers compensation compensation will not be paid in Florida if the injury is caused primarily by the employee being intoxicated or under the influence of drugs.

Florida Workers Compensation Cost

The cost of workers’ compensation in Florida is based on three main factors: the company’s payroll, the types of work employees do, and the employer’s claim history.

  • Payroll reflects the size of a business and the larger the payroll, the higher the total cost of workers’ compensation.
  • The types of work in your business also play a role. The riskier the job, the more expensive your workers’ compensation insurance will be.
  • If you have filed workers’ compensation claims in the past, you will pay a higher price.

Workers’ insurance in Florida costs about 26 cents per $ 100 of payroll for employees in low-risk jobs and $ 19.40 per $ 100 of payroll for workers in high-risk jobs , according to Cerity.

You can reduce the costs of workers’ compensation premiums in Florida with discounts:

  • There is a 2% discount for having a workplace safety program
  • There is a 5% discount for a drug-free work program

Self-insured businesses in Florida can also get these credits. Each of these programs must be renewed each year.

Find supplemental insurance for workers in Florida

You can get workers’ compensation insurance in Florida by contacting a business insurance agent.

If you cannot obtain workers ‘compensation coverage in the standard workers’ compensation market, your insurance agent can contact the Florida Workers Compensation Joint Underwriting Association (FWCJUA). Workers’ compensation rates through the FWCJUA will be higher than standard market rates.

Florida employees don’t have to worry about paying a portion of a workers’ compensation premium. Florida law is very clear on this point: it is the employer’s responsibility to pay the full worker’s compensation insurance premium.

The Largest Workers’ Insurance Companies in Florida

Report worker injuries

Florida employees are encouraged to report work-related incidents involving injury and illness as soon as they occur. Under Florida law, employees are required to report work-related injuries and illnesses within 30 days to their employers.

Florida employers should report the employee’s illness or injury to their workers’ compensation insurance company as soon as possible. Under Florida law, employers have seven days to make this report from the time they become aware of the illness or injury. Failure to do so may result in an administrative fine of up to $ 2,000 per occurrence.

Most insurance companies have a toll-free number to report work-related injuries and illnesses. The employer must also complete an initial injury or illness declaration form and send it to the insurance company.

As soon as the employer informs the insurance company of the injury or occupational disease, the insurance company can:

  • Consider the injury or illness
  • Provide a licensed physician
  • Pay for all authorized and necessary medical treatment related to the illness or injury

Business insurance made easy

Compare free quotes from the best insurers on SimplyBusiness. Get a policy in under 10 minutes.


Source link

About Yvonne Lozier

Check Also

October is National Chiropractic Health Month

Greenville Mayor Steve Willman presents Dr. Kristene Clark with a proclamation declaring October “National Chiropractic …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *